top of page


Amy Boyes is a piano and theory teacher in Warman, Saskatchewan. Her students regularly participate in festivals, recitals and examinations. 

She holds Associate Diplomas (ARCT) in Piano Performance and Teaching from the Royal Conservatory of Music and a Licentiate Diploma from Trinity College (UK) in Piano Recital. She studied at Brandon University with Alexander Tselyakov (B Mus) and at the University of Alberta with Janet Scott Hoyt (M Mus).

As a speaker, Amy has presented at Music Teachers' National Association (MTNA) and Canadian Federation of Music Teachers' Associations (CFMTA) Conferences in both Canada and the US on topics as such studio management, strong interpersonal relationships with students and diversifying students’ repertoire. Amy will present "The New Reality for Music Teachers: Thriving in Challenging Economic Circumstances" at the National Conference for Keyboard Pedagogy (NCKP) in July, 2023. 

Amy's music-related articles have been published in the American Music Teacher Magazine, Canadian Music Teacher Magazine, Piano Magazine (formerly Clavier Companion, and Piano Professional, and as guest blog posts on Melanie SpanswickNo Dead Guys, Cross-Eyed Pianist and Piano Dao. Other writing has been published by CBC, The Globe and MailHumber Literary Review, In Parentheses, and Signature Editions. 


A council member of the Canadian Music Festival Adjudicators' Association, Amy has adjudicated music festivals from PEI to AB. She is an RCM Examiner (piano and music history) and is a Certified Teacher in Piano, History and Harmony.


Currently, Amy is the Public Relations Committee Chair and Saskatchewan Delegate for CFMTA and is Vice President of the Saskatchewan Registered Music Teachers' Association (SRMTA). Amy was Finance Chair and Vice President of the Ontario RMTA (2019-2021), president of the Ottawa Region Branch (2016 to 2018), and Chair of the 2018 Convention Planning Committee.

Amy was a 2022 recipient of the ORMTA Contribution to Teacher Award for which is she very grateful. 

bottom of page